Skip To Main Content

CCMS Speech Team Finishes Second in State Tournament

CCMS Speech Team Finishes Second in State Tournament

 The Calloway County Middle School Speech Team traveled to Lexington this weekend to compete in the Kentucky High School Speech League Junior division State Tournament and placed 2nd of twenty-two schools! The team advanced 8 entries to finals (top 6 in the state) including Faith McCafferty who was the state champion in storytelling. The team also advanced 16 entries to semi-finals (top 12 in the state). Eighth grader Addy Lusk was chosen as the KHSSL Blyton Book award winner for 2023. This is an award given to one outstanding 8th grader in Kentucky who has excelled at and promoted speech in their school and community.

Finalists at the state tournament included Faith McCafferty who was champion in storytelling and 2nd in prose, Addy Lusk who placed 2nd in extemporaneous speaking and 6th in declamation, Courtney Hargrove who placed 5th in oratory and 6th in dramatic interpretation, Hayden Gilbert who placed 6th in impromptu and the duo acting team of Julianne Rudy and Reagan Rice who placed 6th.

Semi-finalists included Ella Burkeen in declamation, Ofellia Feezor in dramatic interpretation, Courtney Hargrove and Caden Bumpus in duo acting, Amanda Ezinma in impromptu and oratory, Addy Lusk in impromptu, Charlotte Haws in poetry and Kannon Bruce in storytelling.

Non-advancing students who also contributed to the team's success included: Hunter Ringstaff, Parker Morris, Leah Hughes, Tyler Sadler, McKenna Hopgood, Sam Elliott, Aliyah Byrley, Allyson Turner, Meghan Scott-Duncan, and Ava Moore. The team is coached by Jennifer Dunnaway, Scott Bonneau and Kaydee Sevilla.