Skip To Main Content

CCMS Speech Team Finishes 4th in KHSSL State Tournament

CCMS Speech Team Finishes 4th in KHSSL State Tournament

Calloway County Middle School Speech Team finished fourth in the Kentucky High School Speech League State Tournament at the University of Kentucky on February 24. 

Eighth grader Faith McCafferty was named the State Champion in storytelling for the second year in a row. Six total Lakers were state finalists in their events.  McCafferty was also named the Blyton Book Award recipient for the 2023-2024 season for her dedication to promoting speech in her school, community, and state.

State finalists included Hayden Gilbert who placed 2nd in impromptu and Liberty Fitch who placed 6th in oratory. Parker Morris placed 6th in broadcasting and 5th in duo acting with her partner Kannon Bruce.

Several team members advanced to the semi-final round (top 12 in the state). These include Faith McCafferty in dramatic interpretation, Collin Naber in broadcasting, Tyler Saalwaechter in extemporaneous speaking and oratory, McKinley Marshall in extemporaneous speaking and McKenna Hopgood in poetry. The duo acting team of Charlotte Haws and Ava Moore and the improvisational duo team of Meghan Scott-Duncan and Emma Lanier were also semi-finalists. Emma Lanier was also a semi-finalist in humorous interpretation along with Willow Howland in storytelling and Tyler Saalwaechter and Hayden Gilbert in oratory.

Quarter finalists included Collin Naber and Kensley Hutson in broadcasting, Ava Moore and Charlotte Haws in improvisational duo and Leah Hughes in prose.

These team members also contributed to the team’s success: Jordyan Moats, Allyson Turner, Madelyn Tudor, Andrew Dunnaway, Lilah Hill, Patience Hunt, and Zoree Whitley.

The team is coached by Jennifer Dunnaway, Scott Bonneau and Kaydee Sevilla.