Skip To Main Content

CCMS Academic Team Shines in Memphis Regional


Picture above are the CCMS Science Bee team

Seventeen students from Calloway County Middle School Academic Team traveled to Lausanne Collegiate School in Memphis, TN on April 9 to compete in both the Regional Science and History Bee tournaments.  They were able to advance to this level based on successful completion of an online qualifier earlier this school year.  The Lakers competed against students from across Tennessee, Arkansas, and Alabama. 

In the Science Bee portion of the tournament, the Lakers brought home several medals and distinctions. In the 8th grade division, the Lakers had four team members make the championship round of eight students.  Connor Pile brought home the Memphis championship trophy, while Sam Houston finished as runner-up in the event.  Brayan Ventura and Max Champion rounded out the final table. The seventh-grade division found an astounding five Laker teammates qualifying for the championship round of seven students.  Aiden Hooper brought home the championship while Divine Ezinma claimed second place, followed by Sarah Doyle in third place.  The final table also included Lillie Russell and Will Lanier.   In the sixth-grade division, Ella Martin claimed the runner up trophy, while Collin Naber was named the Science Bee runner up in the elementary division.   In addition, Collin also claimed the elementary championship in the Geography Bee.  The Science Bee team is composed of Connor Pile, Sam Houston, Max Chapman, Brayan Ventura, Aiden Hooper, Lillie Russell, Sarah Doyle, Divine Ezinma, Mariana Hughes, Will Lanier, Ella Martin, and Collin Naber. 

In the History Bee portion of the tournament, the Lakers also brought home numerous medals and championship distinction.  In the 8th grade division, the Lakers brought home the championship trophy won by Grant Todd.  He was followed by Tommy Gomez in third place and Sam Houston in fourth place.  The seventh-grade division saw three Lakers make the final table with Aiden Hooper placing third, followed by Sean Williams and Mariana Hughes.  The Lakers also had Molly Pierce make the final table in the sixth-grade division where she placed fourth. The History Bee team is composed of Grant Todd, Tommy Gomez, Sam Houston, Luis Lira, Lillie Russell, Aiden Hooper, Sean Williams, Mariana Hughes, and Molly Pierce.  

At the conclusion of the tournament, the Lakers gathered fifteen invitations to the national tournament to be held later during the summer in Orlando, Florida.  In addition, four Lakers qualified for the International History Olympiad to be held in Vermont. The History Bee team is coached by Mitch Hultman, and the Science Bee team is coached by Scott Pile.     


Pictured below are the CCMS History Bee team