Skip To Main Content

Eight CCHS Students Selected for Governor's Scholars Program

Eight CCHS Students Selected for Governor's Scholars Program

Eight Calloway County High School juniors were selected to participate in the 2023 Governor's Scholars Program (GSP).  

The Governor’s Scholars Program is a summer residential program for outstanding high school students in Kentucky who are rising seniors. The Program originated in 1983 as a result of Kentucky leaders’ concern that the state’s “best and brightest” were leaving the Commonwealth to pursue educational and career opportunities elsewhere without fully understanding the potential of their talents at home. Students who are selected attend the Program without charge. In the spirit of partnership, the Office of the Governor, the Kentucky State Legislature, and private enterprise come together to provide the financial support for the Program.

In order to participate in the Program, students must be nominated by their high schools and then compete on a state-wide level. Selection for the program is highly competitive, with an application process similar to that of prestigious colleges and universities. In addition to an academic profile that includes difficulty of course load, GPA, and at least one standardized test score, the application requires an outline of all extracurricular activities, a history of volunteer service, and a list of job positions held. A Teacher recommendation which includes both a quantitative evaluation and qualitative descriptions of the student’s performance and potential; as well as a Community Recommendation which shows how a student performs in a community setting beyond the high school are also required. The final component of the application is an original writing entry.

CCHS students selected were (L to R) Amelia Slaton (alternate), Aiden Grooms, Olivia Anderson, Jasmine Hornbuckle, Taylor Frantz, Jacob Akin, Sydney Lasley, and Caleb Darnell.