Skip To Main Content

CCHS Academic Team Wins 14th Consecutive District Championship

CCHS Academic Team Wins 14th Consecutive District Championship

Calloway County High School Academic Team clenched their 14th consecutive KAAC Governor’s Cup District Championship on Tuesday, January 23, 2024.  The Lakers scored 63.5 points in individual and team events to earn first place. Murray High School and Graves County High School earned 35.5 and 17 points respectively.

Quick Recall and Future Problem Solving team events each won first place and will advance to Regionals, which will be hosted at Calloway County High School on February 2 and 17, 2024.

Quick Recall: 1st place overall

Round 1: 43-11 win over Graves, set new record for most points scored in District 3 Quick Recall match.

Round 2: 35-34 win over Murray High

Round 4: 36-29 win over Murray High

Congratulations to QR teammates: Nathaniel Fowler, Aubrey Naber, Amber Wu and Connor Pile with assistance from Kaylee Tharp, Addi Pervine, Ezra Foote, Jack Williams, Levi Dunnaway, Maya Munoz, Sean Williams, Aiden Hooper, and Tommy Gomez, who will advance to Regionals.

Future Problem Solving: 1st Place

The FPS team of Sidney Lasley, Brooklyn Swatzell, Aubrey Naber, and Vayla Carlisle wrote the championship booklet on the economic and environmental challenges surrounding urbanization of island.

Individual students advancing to Regionals:


4th (tie): Vayla Carlisle and Amber Wu



1st: Amber Wu

3rd: Sean Williams

4th: Elizabeth Lanier



3rd: Elizabeth Lanier

4th: Connor Pile


Social Studies:

1st: Ezra Foote

3rd: Tommy Gomez

4th: Nathaniel Fowler


Language Arts:

1st: Aubrey Naber

2nd: Kaylee Tharp


Arts and Humanities:

1st: Maya Munoz

2nd: Connor Pile

3rd: Nathaniel Fowler


The Lakers are coached by Erica Gray, Lane Springer, Cassidy McAllister, Margaret Richter, Dan Thompson, and Jayden Morris.